What is this Year long Project about – First Idea

25 Dec

As I went to bed last night- late again (2.30am) but not as late as recently- I could not get to sleep straight away. So, I thought about the Project and this blog.

The Idea that kept coming back is to catalogue- with my notes of quotes and comments- the books I have in my home library. That would be useful, fun and interesting. I would finally know what books I own. I could dispose of those that are of no consequence or past it. Given the real mix of books on my shelves and tables, this could be really unexpected bonus.

Now, for practicalities. First, if I am to cover ALL MY BOOKS, then reading would need to be fast and typing even faster. This means I will need to get my typing speed increased by an order of magnitude- hence get through Mavis Beacon typing course asap. Even at the rate of ONE BOOK A DAY I would only cover 365 books and there are more of them in the house. Plus, realistically, I will not manage that rate. So, I will go for 250 books capture over 2009 year. I do not know where she finds these challenges, but they look really a good idea- parcelling a big task into small and achievable chunks.

This commitment entails some choices. For the moment I have no idea what criteria to use. I can consider this later, once I have tried to see on a few examples how this task develops.

As a committed researcher, I am checking out existing Book Review Blogs. Sure to learn something useful. Becky’s Book Reviews has a great idea: setting up a number of challenges for the year. Her 2008 Challenges can be found here Another site that I like is a busy and varied Janice Harayda’s One minute book reviews which introduces a simple template for reviews. This is the one I will try in my first attempt (hope to get the author’s permission- generously granted in the comment below, thank you).

Wish me luck in this year long commitment. What I need is the support and reminder of why I am doing this.

2 Responses to “What is this Year long Project about – First Idea”

  1. 1minutebookreviewswordpresscom December 26, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Thanks so much for noticing my site. A lot of us who were newspaper book editors (as I was at the Plain Dealer) were required by our employers to use a template for reviews.

    Back then, this approach sometimes seemed rigid to me. But I’ve come to appreciate the virtues of a template. It’s saved me a lot of time that I have a standard place to put all the basic information about a book (because I don’t have to think “How am I going to work this in?”) with every review.

    Bet a lot of people would love to do what you’re doing this year with the books in your home library … could be very rewarding project.

    Jan

    • Lilly December 28, 2008 at 11:55 pm #

      Hi Jan,

      thank you so much for your reply and encouragement. It is great to hear from someone with your extensive experience both as a book reviewer and an established blogger.

      I hope to learn from many sources and get better as I go along. A suggestion I picked up from another blog is to have some regular feature for specific days in a week. Still mulling at that one.

      All the very best in the New 2009 Year and may your endeavors in all spheres bring you happiness, fulfillment and joy

      Lilly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

